FIFA Soccer Players Of The Year

The FIFA World Player of the Year is an Association football award given annually to the male and female player who is thought to be the best in the world, based on votes by coaches and captains of international teams. In a voting system based on positional voting, each coach gets three votes, worth five points, three points and one point, and the winners are ordered based on total number of points. The award started in 1991 for men and in 2001 for women. Since the award’s started, Brazilian players have dominated the male awards, having won 8 out of 17 editions of the prize, including the most recent 2007,  and the second country is France, which has won it 3 times.


Since the FIFA hasn’t announced the World Player of the Year for 2008, I will be putting the winners for the year of 2007. The male winner for the year of 2007 was Ricardo Izecson dos Santos Leite, also known as “Kaka”. Kaka received 1,047 points, ahead of Lionel Messi from Argentina which had 504 points and Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo with 426 points in a vote by national team captains and managers.


The 2007  female World Player of the Year chosen by the FIFA was Marta Vieira da Silva. She captured the award with 988 points, ahead of Birgit Prinz of Germany with 507 points and Cristiane of Brazil with 150 points. Marta became the youngest female winner to win the female World Player of the in 2006 at age 20.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: